McLean was a farming community in 1910, when Henry Alonzo Storm established a general store that included the McLean Post Office; the opening of Stormís Store is considered McLeanís unofficial beginning. The store was located on Chain Bridge Road beside a stop on the Great Falls and Old Dominion Railroad, an electrified trolley that ran from Rosslyn to Great Falls Park. The stop was named after John R. McLean, a founder of the trolley and owner of the Washington Post newspaper. A village and vibrant community gradually developed around Stormís Store. The Franklin Sherman School, the first consolidated public school in Fairfax County, opened near the store in October 1914; McLean Day, the first event of its kind in the county, started in 1915 to raise money for the school; and the McLean Volunteer Fire Department incorporated in 1923 as Station 1 in Fairfax County.
Author Bio: Author Carole L. Herrick is a past president of the McLean Historical Society and co-chaired the McLean Centennial Celebration. She is a member of the Fairfax County History Commission, a co-chair of McLean and Great Falls Celebrate Virginia, and a participant of the War of 1812 Bicentennial Commemoration Planning Committee and the Fairfax County Civil War Sesquicentennial Committee.
Find Books By Title:
Find Books By Theme:
Find Books By State: