Moses Cleaveland was sent to survey the lands of the Western Reserve of Connecticut into townships in 1796. Due to a strike, the surveyors were given plots within the new Euclid Township as part of their compensation. They sold these plots to arriving settlers from the east. Aristarkus and Sarah Brainard, the area's first family, arrived in 1831. In 1877, the Mayfield Plank Road was constructed allowing a steady stream of people and goods to easily travel from eastern farms to markets found at Doan's Corners in Cleveland, Ohio. As this part of Euclid Township grew, the area became Euclidville Village, later changed to Lyndhurst Village in 1920. The post-World War II building boom brought many young families to Lyndhurst and transformed the sleepy village into a charming 21st-century suburb.
Author Bio: Thomas S. Treer moved to Lyndhurst Village in 1951. His career as a photographer and teacher, combined with his lifelong love of his neighborhood, manifested itself in his role as historian of Lyndhurst. He and wife Lisa, with Tom Jr. and Heather tagging along, created the Lyndhurst Historical Society in 1989. They still reside in his childhood home. He continues to collect Lyndhurst history and give historical presentations to local groups.
Find Books By Title:
Find Books By Theme:
Find Books By State: