Tioga County, New York

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
From the south-central section of New York State comes Tioga County. This unique visual history brings two centuries to life with scenes from each of Tioga County's nine towns: Barton, Berkshire, Candor, Newark Valley, Nichols, Owego, Richford, Spencer, and Tioga. Tioga County, New York explores the growth of a county from its bustling industrial days of the mid-19th century through daily life in the first half of the 20th century. Its views of community life recall the people, places, and events that have given Tioga County its sense of character.
ISBN: 9780738502878
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: New York
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Local historian Richard E. Quest presents images dating from the 1860s to the 1950s, all selected from the collections of the Tioga County Historical Society and many other generous people. He guides the reader through the bygone years, giving a concise, easy-to-read history that focuses on the men and women who shaped a county.
More About This Book