Ozark Pioneers

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
In the early 1800s, rugged and self-sufficient pioneers left their native homelands to tame the wild Ozark territory. These early settlers left their mark on history, as they settled Taney County, and became Missouri's first families. With family stories and photographs passed down from generation to generation, Ozark Pioneers shares the experiences of the first residents of the area. Family names such as Allen, Coggburn, Smith, Whorton, Layton, Bollinger, Brittain, and Rittenhouse appear throughout the history of Taney County, demonstrating the roots and growth of the wild Ozark territory. From the bloody days of battle in the Civil War, to the continuous fight against the outlaws in the Bald Knobber era, these pages detail the courage, hardships, and strength of theses founding families in an untamed land.
ISBN: 9780738518589
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Missouri
Series: Voices of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Vickie Layton Cobb is a charter member of the Ozarks Writers League, and a graduate of Southwestern University in Springfield, Missouri. Her ancestors fought to make Ozark country what it is today. Ms. Cobb is also the author of Fallen Leaves, a two-volume genealogical account of Taney County. She currently lives in the quiet town of Galena, Missouri.
More About This Book