Flushing: 1880-1935

$21.99
  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Overview
In 1645, English immigrants settled in Vlissengen, an area of Queens now known as Flushing. After bitter disagreements with Governor Stuyvesant over the issue of religious freedom, they produced the Flushing Remonstrance, one of the first public statements defending the separation of church and state. The village of Flushing was incorporated into the larger New York City area in 1898, and the community soon became famous for its beautiful tree-lined streets, a reminder of its rich horticultural heritage. The Bowne House, the First Quaker Meetinghouse, Kingsland Homestead, Flushing Town Hall, and St. George's Church are a few of the buildings known for their architectural merit and historic significance.
Details
ISBN: 9780738538426
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
Date:
State: New York
Series: Postcard History Series
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Author
Flushing: 1880–1935 showcases a collection of photographs and postcards that present the Flushing of a bygone era. James Driscoll, historian for the Queens Historical Society, authored this history for the Voelker Orth Museum, Bird Sanctuary, and Victorian Garden. Images for this book were donated from the collections of Vincent Seyfried, Stanley Cogan, and Victor Annaloro.
More About This Book