Carroll County

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Carroll County, in central Maryland, was created in 1837 out of the western part of Baltimore County and the eastern part of Frederick County, making it one of the last counties created in the state. It takes its name from Charles Carroll, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. He lived the longest of all the signers, dying a few years before the county's founding. Carroll County's location has influenced its history, bringing together Mason and Dixon, the Baltimore and Ohio and Western Maryland Railroads, the Union Army of the Potomac, J. E. B. Stuart's Confederate cavalry, and the rural free delivery of mail. Settled by Pennsylvania Germans along the northern border and English settlers in the south, its diverse heritage is reflected in the cities of Westminster, Hampstead, Manchester, Mount Airy, New Windsor, Sykesville, Taneytown, Union Bridge, and the crossroad communities of Linwood, Patapsco, and Union Mills.
ISBN: 9780738543024
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Maryland
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Author Catherine Baty, curator of collections at the Historical Society of Carroll County, has mined the society's collection for images reflecting Carroll County's unique heritage. Combined with images from other museums and heritage groups across the county, they provide a glimpse into Carroll County's past—farms and factories, cities and crossroads, business and government, work and play.
More About This Book