East Greenwich

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
East Greenwich, the eighth-oldest town in the state, was named for the original Greenwich in Kent County, England. The eastern edge rests on the Narragansett Bay, and the western land gracefully rises up four picturesque hills. Originally owned by the Narragansett Indians, the territory was acquired by King Charles II in 1644. It was incorporated as a town on October 13, 1677, when the Rhode Island General Assembly granted land to men who served during King Philip's War. The town's sheltered cove nurtured a thriving seaport community, and successful boatbuilding, rope making, and fishing industries emerged. Inhabitants of the western part of the village focused on farming, and a prosperous textile industry lasted until the end of World War II.
ISBN: 9780738545271
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Rhode Island
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
The East Greenwich Historic Preservation Society was founded in 1967 to help preserve the town's architectural heritage, history, and customs. In keeping with this tradition, society president Marion Helwig and members Thaire Adamson, Gladys Bailey, and Alan Clarke created this superb history. The stunning vintage images found in East Greenwich hail from the Varnum House Museum collection and were donated by townspeople and local organizations.
More About This Book