Plainville

$21.99
  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • Reviews
Overview
Originally known as the Great Plain, Plainville was the last town to separate from Farmington. In 1830, a post office was established in the new community and the name was changed. The town officially incorporated in 1869. The early economy consisted of farmers, millers, tin workers, tanners, chair makers, and blacksmiths. In 1828, the Farmington Canal opened and Plainville's population blossomed. It soon became a commercial center and new industries and manufacturing developed. This book documents Plainville's early-17th-century settlers, such as the Root, Newell, Hooker, Lewis, and Hamlin families, and follows the town's fascinating evolution to the present. Through stunning photographs, readers will delight to see Plainville's past unfold.
Details
ISBN: 9780738549590
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
Date:
State: Connecticut
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Author
Lynda J. Russell, author of Bristol Historic Homes, is a member of both the Plainville and Bristol Historical Societies. She is the president and historian of the Quota Club of Bristol and serves on the mayor's TEAM committee for the city of Bristol.
Reviews