Ziebach County: 1910-2010

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
South Dakota's north-central Ziebach County, established in 1911, is named for Frank M. Ziebach. The majority of the county lies within the boundaries of the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation; small areas also lie within the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation. As the railroad penetrated the area, small towns sprang up. Dupree, the largest town in Ziebach County, was selected as the county seat. Founded in 1910, the town of Dupree celebrates its 100-year centennial with the publication of this history. The Ziebach County Historical Society is dedicated to preserving the history of the area's people, places, and events. A collection of nearly 200 photographs provides a glimpse into the past, along with modern development. Ziebach communities included Armstrong, Bridger, Chase, Cherry Creek, Dupree, Glad Valley, Iron Lightning, Redelm, Red Scaffold, Takini, and Thunder Butte.
ISBN: 9780738577838
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: South Dakota
Series: Images of America
Images: 195
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Donovin Sprague is a part-time instructor in undergraduate and graduate studies at Black Hills State University, and is an author, historian, and member of the Ziebach County Historical Society. He is also the author of five other books for the Images of America series and has authored several articles for publication. He travels throughout the United States and Canada as a lecturer in American Indian Studies.
More About This Book