Around Yavapai County: Celebrating Arizona's Centennial

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
On February 23, 1863, Pres. Abraham Lincoln signed the bill creating the Territory of Arizona. The first Arizona Territorial Legislature established the capital at Prescott and met in September 1864. They divided the territory into four counties: Mohave, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma. Yavapai County, the "mother county," consisted of approximately 65,000 square miles and was believed to be the largest county in the United States. By the time Arizona attained statehood on February 14, 1912, there were 14 counties, and Yavapai County had been reduced in size to 8,125 square miles. Yavapai County has a rich history in mining, ranching, farming, military, and business. Today, Yavapai County is a thriving, growing county with nine incorporated cities and towns and numerous unincorporated communities, such as Ash Fork, Black Canyon City, Cornville, Mayer, and Skull Valley. Historic sites include Sharlot Hall Museum in Prescott, the town of Jerome, Fort Verde, Montezuma's Castle and Well, and Tuzigoot.
ISBN: 9780738579627
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Arizona
Series: Images of America
Images: 197
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
In celebration of Arizona's centennial in 2012, editors Nancy Burgess and Karen Despain have worked on behalf of the Yavapai County Arizona Centennial Committee with each of the contributing communities to produce this history of Yavapai County.
More About This Book