The Medical University of South Carolina

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
The Medical University of South Carolina, founded in Charleston in 1824 by the Medical Society of South Carolina, consists of six colleges, each with its own rich history. The College of Medicine was the tenth medical school in the country and the first medical school in the Deep South. Its graduates fought and healed during times of war, tended to the injured after hurricanes and earthquakes, and battled epidemic diseases that swept through the South. The College of Nursing and the College of Pharmacy were established within years of each other at the close of the 19th century. The College of Graduate Studies, the College of Dental Medicine, and the College of Health Professions were established in the latter half of the 20th century to fill some of the state's most crucial medical needs. Over the years, the Medical University of South Carolina has educated thousands of doctors, nurses, pharmacists, dentists, and other health care workers and scientists.
ISBN: 9780738579962
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: South Carolina
Series: Campus History
Images: 206
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Drawing on the rich collections of MUSC's Waring Historical Library and University Archives, authors Susan Dick Hoffius, curator, and E. Brooke Fox, university archivist, have compiled a fascinating selection of photographs that tell the story of not just the University but also the people who have improved the health of South Carolinians for nearly two centuries. Campus History Series: Medical University of South Carolina provides a visual journey through the history of each of the six colleges to be enjoyed by alumni, students, and anyone interested in the history of South Carolina health care.
More About This Book