Pierce County

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Located in western Washington, Pierce County includes much of the southern Puget Sound shoreline, the entirety of Mount Rainier National Park, and Fort Lewis Base McChord, along with small towns such as Gig Harbor, Fife, Eatonville, Steilacoom, and Puyallup. With unlimited fishing and timber available, the area was first settled in the early 1800s. On December 22, 1852, the county was incorporated and subsequently named after Franklin Pierce, the recently elected president of the United States. Pierce County’s development advanced in the following decades with the formation of Frederick Weyerhaeuser’s Weyerhaeuser Company in 1900, the making of pleasure craft and fishing vessels for the county’s seaport industry, and the creation of naval watercraft for World War II. Today, Pierce County is home to almost 900,000 individuals.
ISBN: 9781467104760
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Washington
Series: Images of America
Images: 162
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Donald R. Tjossem has been a resident of Pierce County for over 30 years and is a member of the Tacoma Historical Society and Washington State Historical Society. He presently serves on the Pierce County Landmarks and Historic Preservation Commission. The images in this book come almost exclusively from the Northwest Room of the Tacoma Public Library.
More About This Book