• Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Wokokon Inlet appeared on maps drawn by Englishman John White as early as the 1580s. The name evolved into Ocracoke, and by 1715, pilots were established on the island in order to safely navigate ships through the dangerous shoals. The village itself, once called Pilot Town, is rich with history that includes pirates, ponies, shipwrecks, hurricanes, and the oldest operating lighthouse in North Carolina. The infamous Blackbeard died here in 1718. Throughout its history, Ocracoke has been accessible only by mail boat, ferry, or private boat or plane. The Navy base established here during World War II and the Coast Guard have both made lasting impressions upon the island. Ocracoke grew into a vibrant fishing village for commercial and sport fishermen as well as a destination for hunters. The people of Ocracoke made this island a true treasure, having a distinctive brogue all their own. Today, the pristine, unspoiled beaches of Ocracoke remain part of the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and are maintained by the National Park Service. The village itself has retained its unique charm and community spirit.
ISBN: 9781467128162
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: North Carolina
Series: Images of America
Images: 195
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Jeanie Owens is an elementary teacher at Ocracoke School. The photographs were selected from the collections archived at the Ocracoke Preservation Society, the Outer Banks History Center, the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Ocracokers, including Chester Lynn, Vince O'Neal, and Philip Howard, contributed images from their personal libraries.
More About This Book