• Overview
  • Details
  • Author
The town of Newbury, incorporating the villages of Old Town, Byfield, and Plum Island, was settled in 1635. The extensive Newbury plantation was primarily agricultural, although many early residents also earned their living through shipbuilding along the Merrimack River. Newbury is rich with natural landmarks and stunning landscapes, including a large portion of the Great Marsh, the largest salt marsh in New England. Byfield was the site of early industry, with gristmills and sawmills sprouting up along the Quascacunquen, now the Parker River, as early as the 1630s. Mills producing products from nails to woolens and snuff prospered into the 20th century. Ancient houses, many of them the homes of famous sons and daughters, stand as a legacy to Newbury's early history. During the 19th century, Plum Island became a fashionable seaside resort and hunters and fishermen took advantage of the birds and fish that proliferated there. The three communities bring together a citizenry fiercely proud of its heritage and a rich history of working and playing on land and sea.
ISBN: 9781467128933
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Massachusetts
Series: Images of America
Images: 198
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Established in 1877 as the Antiquarian and Historical Society of Old Newbury, now known as the Museum of Old Newbury, the organization owns three historic buildings, a 19th-century garden, and a robust collection of fine and decorative arts, archives, and photographs. The museum shares historical information to broaden knowledge and appreciation of the past, address historic preservation in the present, and provide a foundation for the future.