Geyser Basins of Yellowstone

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Yellowstone National Park contains over half the world's active geysers, with more than 700 within its 3,472 square miles. The most famous geyser is Old Faithful, named in 1870 during the Washburn-Langford-Doane Expedition. In 1871, the US Geological and Geographical Survey, led by Dr. F.V. Hayden, reached the Upper Geyser Basin. In just over a day, the explorers witnessed eruptions of many geysers still seen today, including Giantess, Beehive, Grotto, Castle, and Old Faithful. Yellowstone became the first National Park in 1872. Since then, visitors have come in increasing numbers to witness the unique geysers, numerous wildlife, and spectacular scenery.
ISBN: 9781467131025
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Wyoming
Series: Images of America
Images: 215
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Dr. N. Genean Dunn and Thomas D. Dunn are longtime Yellowstone visitors, observing, photographing, and collecting rare books and postcards of the geysers of Yellowstone for the last 30 years. During that time, they have amassed a personal collection of photographs depicting common and rare geyser eruptions and thermal features. For the last 16 years, they have edited a Yellowstone geyser newsletter. In this book, the historical images of geyser basins, going back over 130 years, are drawn from their private collection, the US Geological Society archives, and the National Park Service archives, along with contributions from other private collections.
More About This Book