History, Legends & Myths of Beacon Falls

$21.99
Publishing 10/11/2021
  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Overview
Like many New England mill towns, Beacon Falls has a history that goes back to the founding of this country. It was called “Brigadoon” by a former state senator, and its past is tied to the invention of vulcanized rubber by Charles Goodyear and the manufacture of woolen shawls for Union troops during the Civil War. Its early Native American roots tell the story of Tobe, a Narragansett Indian who owned most of the western portion of land that became the town in 1871. High Rock Grove brought ten thousand visitors each summer to enjoy the skating rink, band concerts and acclaimed scenic vistas of Long Island Sound. Local author and municipal historian Michael Krenesky reveals some of the fascinating stories behind this jewel of the Naugatuck Valley.
Details
ISBN: 9781467150613
Format: Paperback
Publisher: The History Press
Date:
State: Connecticut
Images: 51
Pages: 176
Dimensions: 6 (w) x 9 (h)
Author
Michael Alan Krenesky is a lifelong resident of Beacon Falls, where he lives with his wife, Joyce. He is currently in his fifth term as selectman of the Town of Beacon Falls, and he is also the town’s municipal historian and president of the Beacon Falls Historical Society. Mike served eleven years on the Regional School District No. 16 Board of Education and two terms as the town treasurer. Mike works as an IT consultant (senior project manager) currently employed by a South Windsor CT consultant firm. He graduated with honors from Bentley University (formerly Bentley College) in 1981. His hobbies include golf, genealogy, SCUBA/underwater photography and flying drones.
More About This Book