Wayne County Indiana: The Battles for the Courthouse

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
The residents of Wayne County, Indiana, have battled about the county seat location since its formation in 1810. There have been three county seats and six courthouses. The disagreement-started between settlers from Salisbury and Centerville-was bitterly debated in the Indiana Territory legislature. Although Salisbury was the first county seat, it was moved to Centerville soon after Indiana's ratification as a state, and Salisbury faded into a lost town. For fifty-two years, Centerville maintained power, building two courthouses and a jail, until Richmond asserted its dominance in the state legislature. The struggle for the reins of power in Wayne County was Indiana's longest-running feud, igniting untold amounts of community pride. Join Wayne County historian Carolyn Lafever as she shares this story of conflict and courthouses, from tumultuous beginning to peaceful end.
ISBN: 9781596298828
Format: Paperback
Publisher: The History Press
State: Indiana
Series: Brief History
Images: 48
Pages: 144
Dimensions: 6 (w) x 9 (h)
Carolyn Ruth Lafever has been writing about the history of Wayne County and Hagerstown since 1982. She became a member of the board of trustees of the Hagerstown Museum and served as secretary and president. In 1986, she became the first director of the museum.
More About This Book