Vanderbilt Football: Tales of Commodore Gridiron History

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
In the Southeastern Conference arguably the most historic and competitive conference in all of college football the more blue-collar programs often get overshadowed by the dynasties (read: Alabama). So it has been with Vanderbilt's football history. Yet Vandy is one of the South's, and the country's, most historic universities. Not surprisingly, there are many fun, fascinating, and peculiar history. There are triumphs, like Vandy's upset of Alabama in 1969; tragedies, like the riot that ended a game in 1896; historic events, like the founding of Dudley field in 1922, still the Commodore's home. Then there are the legendary coaches and players. Players from across Vandy's history like Irby "Rabbit" Curry, Dixie Roberts, Carl Hinkle, Greet Ricketson, and Josh Cody, who excelled on both sides of the ball. Coaches like Dan MuGugin who established Vandy as a power house from the early 1900s to the 1930s, and remains the only NCAA football coach in history to win his first three games by 60 points or more. Plus, pioneers like Ray Morrison who helped establish Vandy football, serving as player and coach.
ISBN: 9781609494230
Format: Paperback
Publisher: The History Press
State: Tennessee
Series: Sports
Images: 57
Pages: 160
Dimensions: 6 (w) x 9 (h)
Bill Traughber is a researcher and writer of Nashville sports history. He has been a published writer for twelve years. The Nashville-born writer's work has appeared in Athlon's Baseball Annual, Nashville Sports Weekly, Titans Exclusive, Big Orange Illustrated, the City Paper, Tennessee Titans Season Review 2001, 2, Sports Nashville, Nashville Retrospect and the National Pastime (SABR). His stories have also appeared in these additional publications: Nashville Sounds 2004, 9 yearly programs; Nashville Sounds 2007, 9 media guides; Brentwood Academy 2004, 9 football programs; Vanderbilt University 2004, 9 football programs; and Vanderbilt 2008, 9 baseball media guides. His work has appeared on several websites, including and As a member of the Tennessee Sports Writers Association, he was presented with these awards: 2003 Best Feature Writer (Division II); 2005 Best Feature Writer (Division III); 2006 Best Feature Writer (Division III); 2007 Third Place Feature Writer (Division III); 2008 Second Place Feature Writer (Division III); 2008 Third Place Writer of the Year (Division III); 2009 Best Feature Writer (Division III); and 2009 Second Place Writer of the Year (Division III). His memberships include the Tennessee Sports Writers Association (TSWA), the Nashville Sports Council, the Society of American Baseball Researchers (SABR), the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the Intercollegiate Football Researchers Association (IFRA). Traughber's stories have taken him to Cooperstown, New York; Anchorage, Alaska; and the White House in Washington, D.C. He resides in Brentwood, Tennessee.
More About This Book