North Carolina Potteries Through Time

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Potter, teacher, and writer Jack Troy once said, "If North America has a ‘pottery state,' it must be North Carolina." North Carolina Potteries Through Time proves to readers that his assessment is correct. Prehistoric Native American potters first made pottery in the region, followed by eighteenth-century English and German settlers. Many generations of potters followed in their footsteps, and today hundreds of potters and ceramics artists turn out ware in every part of the state. In the town of Seagrove, there's a whole museum and educational center dedicated to North Carolina pottery production. Many private and public collections exist. Buyers seek it out at auctions, antique shops, kiln openings, festivals, and studio sales. This book is chock-full of images representing all periods and styles of pottery made in the state, including many published for the first time. Readers new to the topic, as well as expert collectors, historians, and potters will find satisfaction in this richly illustrated and descriptively written volume.
ISBN: 9781635000474
Format: Paperback
Publisher: America Through Time
State: North Carolina
Series: America Through Time
Images: 184
Pages: 96
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
STEPHEN C. COMPTON is an avid collector of mid-eighteenth to mid-twentieth century North Carolina pottery. Steve has written numerous articles and books about it, including, North Carolina Pottery: Earthenware, Stoneware, and Fancyware (Collector Books, 2011), Seagrove Potteries Through Time (America Through Time, 2013) and It's Just Dirt, (America Through Time, 2014 & 2017). Widely recognized for his expertise, he is frequently called upon to be a lecturer and exhibit curator. He once served as president of the North Carolina Pottery Center, a museum and educational center located in Seagrove, NC, and is a founding organizer of the North Carolina Pottery Collectors' Guild. Steve resides with his wife in Raleigh, NC.
More About This Book