New from Arcadia Publishing is “Bluefield, Virginia,” by local authors Louise Leslie and Dr. Terry Mullins. Boasting more than 200 vintage photographs, the pictorial history offers a fascinating look at the local personalities, buildings and landmarks that have made this community what it is today.
In its long, illustrious history, the town of Bluefield has had four distinctive names. The small agricultural community began as Pin Hook, then became Harman in honor of a local Civil War hero, E.H. Harman. With the arrival of the railroad, the town was first incorporated under the name of Graham in 1884 in honor of the Philadelphia engineer and promoter, Col. Thomas Graham. Finally, the town of dubbed Bluefield in 1924, to coincide with its neighbor across the state line. The name Bluefield comes from the fields of blue chicory that are common to this region of the two Virginias.
Leslie is a retired editor of the Clinch Valley News. She currently writes and edits for several local publications. Mullins retired after 30 years as a teacher of government and history at Rocky Gap and Tazewell high schools. He is now an associate professor of education at Concord University in Athens, W.Va. “Images of America: Bluefield, Virginia” is the fifth volume the pair has coauthored with Arcadia Publishing. The book is available after July 13 at area bookstores, independent retailers and online retailers, or through the publisher at ww.arcadiapublishing.com or (888)313-2665.