Early County
The territory out of which Early County was formed was obtained by Gen. Andrew Jackson from the Native Americans in 1817 at the conclusion of his march through their territory in southwest Georgia. In 1818, the legislature of Georgia divided the land into three counties, Early, Irwin, and Appling. Early County received its name in honor of Gov. Peter Early, said to be one of Georgia's purest and ablest statesmen of the day. From 1857 to 1923, the county's 3,750 square miles were divided into a total of 10 counties, leaving Early with only 514 square miles. From the very beginning, agriculture was the dominant industry, and Early County became known as "the Peanut Capital of the World."
Arcadia Publishing
: 9780738588100
: Arcadia Publishing
: 11/28/2011
: Georgia
: Images of America
: 217 Black And White
: 128
: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
  • About the author
  • Reviews
  • Customer Reviews
  • More about this book
About the author
The Early County Museum has selected images for this book that celebrate more than 100 years of history of neighborhoods and towns across the county as well as the people who lived there. Author Tina Owen culled images from the archives of Maddox Memorial Library, Early County Museum, and the Georgia Archives. Many of these photographs have never been published and will be a delight to longtime residents of Early and to visitors to the area.
Customer Reviews
More about this book