Cape Fear Lost

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Progress is a contradictory term, one that inherently means an improvement of luxury and an advancement of technology, yet usually at the expense of a community's identity, traditions, and history. Though many buildings survived Civil War skirmishes and Northern occupation during Reconstruction, these same structures did not escape the plans of ambitious entrepreneurs and thus disappeared from Wilmington's landscape, only to be replaced, over time, by shopping plazas and nationally recognizable commercial facades. Cape Fear Lost celebrates places that have vanished from presentday Wilmington. In this volume of more than 200 photographs, you will be able to explore the Wilmington of a bygone era, one punctuated by unpaved tree-lined streets and architecturally diverse dwellings. As you thumb through these pages, you will experience firsthand the beauty of many former mansions scattered throughout the downtown area, familiar churches, civic buildings and schools that once dotted the cityscape, the many businesses that utilized the pedestrian, horse-and-wagon, and shipping traffic along Market Street, and the transformation of Wrightsville Beach and Carolina Beach from humble summer bungalows into major tourist retreats. These varied scenes allow you an extraordinary insight into this coastal community's changing character over the past century and a half.
ISBN: 9780738501925
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: North Carolina
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Local historian and author Susan Taylor Block, on behalf of Cape Fear Museum, has compiled a wonderful collection of images, matched with informative captions that describe the unique histories surrounding each of these forgotten places. Cape Fear Lost is truly a treasure for all readers, whether natives of the area who have spent their entire lives in Wilmington or those who come often to enjoy its scenic splendor.
More About This Book