East Longmeadow

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
East Longmeadow was first known as the east village of Longmeadow, which was established in 1644. The name was derived from the great meadows along the Connecticut River that lie on the western edge of town. Scrub pine and sandy fields a few miles to the east separated East Village from the rest of town. The area's first settlers lived along the river, but the spring floods drove them to higher ground. Both East Village and Longmeadow were mostly agricultural areas. By the 1860s, East Village residents started to farm the land in their own town, and in 1894, East Longmeadow became a town of its own. Brown and red sandstone put the town of East Longmeadow on the map. Local farmers who found outcroppings of the stone on their land first used the stone for their house foundations and walkways. In 1875, large companies, such as Norcross Brothers and James & Marra Company, operated the quarries, employing hundreds of men. They hired Canadians and many Scandinavians who bought land in the town and built their own homes. The quarrying industry had its heyday until the first part of the 1900s.
ISBN: 9780738504322
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Massachusetts
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Author John Y. Hess, one of the founders of the Springfield Historical Society, is currently the vice-chairman of the East Longmeadow Historical Commission. Here in over two hundred stunning and rare photographs, he presents the history that he knows so well. Join him as he looks back through the years to celebrate the rich history of the town of East Longmeadow.
More About This Book