The College World Series

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Since 1950, Omaha's Rosenblatt Stadium (formerly Municipal Stadium) has hosted the nation's top college baseball programs in the College World Series. Baseball fans from every corner of the country have taken the annual "Road to Omaha" and packed the seats to see championship baseball at its best. In 1954 thousands saw Jim Ehrler of Texas toss the tourney's first no-hitter en route to the Longhorns winning back-to-back CWS championships. Fans at the 1970 tournament saw Southern Cal defeat Florida State in the midst of their unmatched five-year championship run. In 1996 Rosenblatt's faithful took in the dramatic bottom-of-the-ninth, two-out, two-run homer by Louisiana State's Warren Morris, giving his team a 9-8 upset victory over powerhouse Miami.
ISBN: 9780738533797
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Nebraska
Series: Images of Baseball
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
The authors are longtime baseball historians with an expertise in the collegiate game. W.C. Madden has written the College World Series Record Book and The College World Series: A Baseball History, 1947–2003, along with many other titles. John E. Peterson, senior pastor at Bensonvale Covenant Church in Omaha, is the author of The Kansas City Athletics: A Baseball History, 1954–1967.
More About This Book