The Legacy of Nursing at Albany Medical Center

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
The Legacy of Nursing at Albany Medical Center is a visual journey through nursing history at Albany Medical Center from the founding of Albany Hospital Training School for Nurses in 1897 to the accomplishments of present-day nurses. Early nurses operated under the mandate "All nursing necessary for the hospital," and their duties included cleaning, preparing special diets, and caring for patients. Nurses gave twenty-four-hour-a-day care during the flu epidemic of 1918, provided military health care during both world wars, and manned the iron lungs during the polio epidemics of the 1940s and 1950s. Today, nurses at Albany Medical Center continue at the forefront of sophisticated, high-tech medical care. The Legacy of Nursing at Albany Medical Center follows nursing from the age of strict curfews and required nursing uniforms to the modern era of greater nursing freedom and responsibility. As nursing practice evolved, so did attire. Hats, gloves, high collars, caps, and ankle-length dresses gave way to above-the-knee hemlines, pantsuits, scrubs, and bare heads. Among celebrated Albany graduates are Anne Strong (class of 1906), inducted into the Nursing Hall of Fame, and Nancy Cameron (class of 1900), decorated with the Royal Red Cross and received by Queen Alexandra during World War I.
ISBN: 9780738534879
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: New York
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Coauthors Mary D. French and Elsie L. Whiting collaborated to compile the material for this book on behalf of the Albany Medical Center Schools of Nursing Alumni Association. French (class of 1954) was big sister to Whiting (class of 1955) at Union University School of Nursing. Along with alumni members and hospital staff, they conducted research and compiled photographs for the hospital's permanent exhibit on nursing history, located off the Pillars Lobby and dedicated in 2003.
More About This Book