Chicago Cubs: 1926-1940

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
The Chicago Cubs of the mid-1920s through 1940 were one of the most talented and exciting ball clubs the city ever produced. The Northsiders enjoyed 14 consecutive winning seasons and claimed the National League pennant four times (1929, 1932, 1935, and 1938), but fell to a dominant American League club in each World Series appearance. Four legendary baseball names led these Cub teams during this amazing stretch. Three eventually landed in Cooperstown (McCarthy, Hornsby, Hartnett), and many believe the fourth (Grimm) should have joined them. This was also the era when Cubs Park was transformed into Wrigley Field, under the guidance of Bill Veeck Jr., with its trademark bricks and ivy, hand-operated scoreboard, and outfield bleachers.
ISBN: 9780738539812
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Illinois
Series: Images of Baseball
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Art Ahrens—longstanding member of the Society for American Baseball Research and the Old Timers Baseball Association of Chicago—revisits this unforgettable era with all the aplomb of a master storyteller and the passion of a lifelong Cub fan. Ahrens has co-authored (with the late Eddie Gold of the Chicago Sun-Times) five previous titles on Cubs history, and wrote chapter three, “Chicago Cubs,” for the Encyclopedia of National League Team Histories. This is the pictorial history he has been itching to do for years.
More About This Book