The Illinois Statehouse

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Illinois was admitted to the union on December 3, 1818. For the first two years of Illinois's statehood, its capitol was located in Kaskaskia, a small town on the Mississippi River. Vandalia was home to three capitol buildings during its 19-year tenure as the second capital city. In 1837, a group of legislators, led by Abraham Lincoln and referred to as the Long Nine, campaigned to make Springfield the capital city. The Long Nine's goal was met in 1839, and since then, there have been two capitol buildings in Springfield. The first is where Lincoln delivered his House Divided speech. The second, completed in 1888 and the subject of this book, is still in use today. Since it is the current statehouse, its historical value is often overlooked. However, Illinois's sixth capitol is beautiful in its architecture and rich in its history. Many nationally prominent politicians, including a U.S. president, got their start underneath its dome.
ISBN: 9780738560960
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Illinois
Series: Images of America
Images: 196
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
James R. Donelan and Steven W. Dyer have worked in and around the Illinois Statehouse for a combined 50-plus years. In 2001, the two created a Web site dedicated to sharing their appreciation and knowledge of this building.
More About This Book