St. Ignace

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Even before it was named in 1671, St. Ignace was a key part of Michigan history. Before Fr. Jacques Marquette and the Jesuits arrived in the Straits of Mackinac, St. Ignace had a large Native American settlement. With the arrival of the French, fur trading became an important industry. St. Ignace became the county seat in 1882. By the mid-1800s, fishing, shipping, manufacturing, and lumbering were a crucial part of St. Ignace activity. As these industries died down, tourism increased. The area was appealing to tourists for its natural beauty and its fresh air; many came for relief from hay fever and asthma. Initially travelers arrived by ship and train. Ferryboats were important in transporting visitors and goods because of the primitive road system. With its natural harbor, St. Ignace was within easy reach of other Great Lakes ports. With the completion of the Mackinac Bridge in 1957, travel to St. Ignace became much easier. St. Ignace is often referred to as the "Gateway to the Upper Peninsula."
ISBN: 9780738561646
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Michigan
Series: Images of America
Images: 200
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
The St. Ignace Public Library put this book together for the community. A committee consisting of Ryan Schlehuber, Ollie Boynton, Linda Monville, John Monville, Hart Plumstead, Judy Gross, Margaret Peacock, and Cindy Patten sought out pictures for the book and researched local history archives. Several St. Ignace residents supplied the pictures and the information to go with them, and many of these pictures have never been published before. This book illustrates the rich history and beauty of the St. Ignace area and its people.
More About This Book