University of Richmond

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
For more than 175 years, the history of the University of Richmond has been linked to the history of the city of Richmond itself. These photographs tell the story of Richmond and a school founded by Virginia Baptists in 1830. It is the story of two campus locations with one unique mascot - the Spider. In 1914, on the site of an old amusement park, Gothic buildings emerged representing the search for knowledge among spires, vistas, and cloistered gardens. From urban to pastoral settings, these photographs record transitory moments as well as an enduring commitment to the city and education.
ISBN: 9780738566603
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
State: Virginia
Series: Campus History
Images: 192
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
John Reuben Alley and Robert S. Alley Jr. were raised on the campus of the University of Richmond in the faculty house of their father, Robert S. Alley, an alumnus and longtime professor. Their grandfather Reuben E. Alley was a board of trustees member and the author of the History of the University of Richmond, 1830–1971. Robert S. Alley Jr. has been teaching American history at Richmond's Trinity Episcopal School for nearly 20 years. An alumnus and adjunct professor of photography, author John Reuben Alley shares the knowledge acquired from his lifelong association with the University of Richmond.
More About This Book