The University of St. Francis

$21.99
  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • Reviews
Overview
The story of the University of St. Francis began in 1920 when the seeds were planted for Assisi Junior College. The school's evolution continued when, as the College of St. Francis, it awarded bachelor's degrees in 1930, became coeducational in 1970, and attained university status in 1998. The university owes its existence to the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Francis of Mary Immaculate, founded by Mother Alfred Moes in 1865, with Mother Thomasine Fryewska serving as the first president of the institution. Currently this vibrant community claims over 3,500 students on the main campus in Joliet, the many off-campus sites, and online. Throughout the years, the school has grown, adding buildings, programs, and students, but has remained rooted in its Franciscan identity of respect, service, integrity, and compassion.
Details
ISBN: 9780738584164
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing
Date:
State: Illinois
Series: Campus History
Images: 210
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6.5 (w) x 9.25 (h)
Author
Linnea Knapp is the University of St. Francis Archives Librarian. Since joining the university as the first official archivist, she has spent countless hours trolling through closets and cabinets to save and organize the school's history. The book's images are from the University of St. Francis Library Archives and the Archives of the Sisters of St. Francis and they provide a unique pictorial history of USF's past.
Reviews