The Road to Marylake

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
In 1910, Sir Henry Mill Pellatt, one of Edwardian Canada's wealthiest men, started building his famed Casa Loma in Toronto. At the same time, he also started work on his country farm and estate in King Township called Lake Marie, named after his first wife, Lady Mary. Created as a place of respite for Pellatt, his wife and their many friends, the property later was developed into an agricultural farm school by a group of Basilian leaders. And in 1942, the Augustinians established a Monastery and Retreat Centre called Marylake on the land they continue to steward today. Local author Kelly Mathews presents this fascinating story for the first time.
ISBN: 9781467138871
Format: Paperback
Publisher: The History Press
State: Ontario
Series: Landmarks
Images: 107
Pages: 256
Dimensions: 6 (w) x 9 (h)
Kelly Mathews is a manager at Seneca College and is responsible for the operation of the Seneca College Outdoor Education Centre, summer camps and community recreation programs. She is the author of Eaton Hall: Pride of King Township, and she knew while writing that book that the history of Marylake would be next. She is a board member for the King Township Historical Society and the Ontario Camps Association. She is also a member of the Aurora Historical Society and the Town of Aurora Canada150 Ad Hoc Committee. She serves on the King Township Heritage Advisory Committee, is a honourary life member of the Oak Ridges Trail Association and is a founding member of the King Women of Influence Giving Circle for Seneca College. Follow Kelly on Twitter and Instagram via @allthingsregal, where she explores Commonwealth and British royal history.
More About This Book