Muncie Murder & Mayhem

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Muncie epitomizes the small-town America of squeaky-clean 1950s sitcoms, but its wholesome veneer conceals a violent past. Public scandals and personal tragedy dogged the long, notorious life of Dr. Jules LaDuron. Baseball ace Obie McCracken met a tragic and violent end after joining the police force. A mother's love could not stop James Hedges from committing murder. The paranoid delusions of Leonard Redden hounded him until one day he carried a shotgun into a quiet classroom. And newsman George Dale's showdown with the Klan prepared him for the political fight of his life. Douglas Walker and Keith Roysdon, authors of Wicked Muncie, introduce a new cast of characters from the city's notorious past.
ISBN: 9781467138901
Format: Paperback
Publisher: The History Press
State: Indiana
Series: Murder & Mayhem
Images: 53
Pages: 128
Dimensions: 6 (w) x 9 (h)
Douglas Walker has covered the criminal justice system in East Central Indiana for most of the past three decades. For more than a quarter century, he has served in reporting and editing roles for the Star Press and its predecessor, the Muncie Evening Press. Walker has earned dozens of state, regional and national journalism awards—many the result of his collaborations with Keith Roysdon, with whom he co-writes a weekly column on Muncie politics. The Ball State University graduate is an eighth-generation resident of the Muncie area. Keith Roysdon is a reporter at the Star Press in Muncie, Indiana, where he is the paper’s watchdog reporter, covering not only the normal functions of government but also the abnormal—when things go wrong, money is misspent or elected officials misbehave. Roysdon has won more than two dozen awards in Indiana newspaper contests. In addition to many awards for their work together, he and Douglas Walker won the Kent Cooper Award for Story of the Year in Indiana for their 2010 Cold Case story on Muncie’s most notorious unsolved murders. Roysdon marked his fortieth anniversary in journalism in 2017.
More About This Book