Wayne County Indiana: The Battles for the Courthouse

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • Reviews
The residents of Wayne County, Indiana, have battled about the county seat location since its formation in 1810. There have been three county seats and six courthouses. The disagreement-started between settlers from Salisbury and Centerville-was bitterly debated in the Indiana Territory legislature. Although Salisbury was the first county seat, it was moved to Centerville soon after Indiana's ratification as a state, and Salisbury faded into a lost town. For fifty-two years, Centerville maintained power, building two courthouses and a jail, until Richmond asserted its dominance in the state legislature. The struggle for the reins of power in Wayne County was Indiana's longest-running feud, igniting untold amounts of community pride. Join Wayne County historian Carolyn Lafever as she shares this story of conflict and courthouses, from tumultuous beginning to peaceful end.
ISBN: 9781596298828
Format: Paperback
Publisher: The History Press
State: Indiana
Series: Brief History
Images: 48
Pages: 144
Dimensions: 6 (w) x 9 (h)
Carolyn Ruth Lafever has been writing about the history of Wayne County and Hagerstown since 1982. She became a member of the board of trustees of the Hagerstown Museum and served as secretary and president. In 1986, she became the first director of the museum.