Texas High School Football Dynasties

  • Overview
  • Details
  • Author
  • More About This Book
Since the first annual state football champion was crowned in 1920, Texas has never been the same. Today, millions of Texans gather in stadiums across the Lone Star State, eagerly awaiting that magical mid- to late-December moment when the season comes to its dramatic conclusion. Of the 391 high schools reaching the championship matchup, only a handful--26--have won the title four times or more, laying claim to the coveted moniker "dynasty." From Waco High School's fourth title win in 1927 to Stamford's fourth official win in 2012, writer and lifelong football enthusiast Rick Sherrod traces the "best of the best" in this pigskin empire across ninety-three action-packed seasons.
ISBN: 9781609496128
Format: Paperback
Publisher: The History Press
State: Texas
Series: Sports
Images: 122
Pages: 256
Dimensions: 6 (w) x 9 (h)
Rick Sherrod teaches history at Stephenville High and is the author of two previous titles as well as a number of pieces for state historical journals. G. A. Moore is the winningest high school coach in Texas football history. Over the course of 45 years Moore served as head coach at Bryson, Pilot Point, Celina, Sherman, and Aubrey. He is credited with 423 victories.
More About This Book